The University

The University

Historical Review

The University of Azuay was born in 1968 and has its headquarters in the city of Cuenca, capital of the province of Azuay. In its beginnings it was part, first, of the Santiago Catholic University of Guayaquil and, later, of the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador.

In 1990, after fulfilling all the legal requirements, it was recognized as Universidad del Azuay, through the Law of the Republic.

In the year 2006 became the first Ecuadorian university to achieve accreditation by the National Council for Evaluation and Accreditation, CONEA.  

The University of Azuay offers undergraduate training through its twenty-nine schools distributed in six faculties.

Postgraduate training is offered through masters and specializations, the academic offer responds to the needs identified in our region and country framed in the commitment to serve society.


Our mission

We are a University Community that trains people with critical thinking, ethically committed to society, which contributes to science and knowledge to achieve the integral development of our environment. 



To be a research-oriented University; accredited with national and international standards; and, become a national academic reference.

Safety, health and environment policy.

Being faithful to our principles and values ​​at the Universidad del Azuay we commit ourselves to:

  • Protect the health and safety of all those who make the "University Community" by promoting and developing adequate working conditions and a sustainable environment.
  • Make learning and continuous improvement part of our life as a contribution to create and develop a culture of prevention and self-care. Comply with the legal regulations of S&SO, applicable to our institutional actions.
  • Assign the necessary resources to develop a system to prevent occupational health and safety risks.
  • Promote the participation and compliance with the guidelines for industrial safety and occupational health in all its employees, contractors, visitors and other personnel related to the execution of its processes.
  • Disseminate this Policy to the entire University Community.

It is the active and permanent commitment of all University employees, contractors and interested parties, to comply with this Policy.


Principles and values

Search for the truth

  We seek the truth guided by reason.


  We practice respect for diversity.

Social Commitment

  We work for a fair and equitable society with honesty, transparency and social accountability.

Environmental awareness

  We promote sustainable development and the protection of the environment.

Participatory community

  Our management is characterized by the active and proactive participation of all the members of the community.

Non-profit education

  We believe in education as a solidary service.

Academic quality

  We work for the continuous improvement and accreditation of our university work.


University Anthem

Educational Model

Educational model


Statute, regulations and resolutions


Organic Law of Higher Education 


Statute of the University of Azuay 

Resolutions of the University Council
Regulations and instructions

List of authorities

Rector: Francisco Salgado Arteaga
Academic Vice-Rector: Martha Cobos Cali
Vice-Rector of Investigations: Jacinto Guillén García
Administrative and Financial Dean: Fernando Córdova León
General Secretary: Ximena Mejía Moscoso


Faculty of Philosophy, Letters and Education Sciences
Dean: Ramiro Laso Bayas
Subdecana: Diana Lee Rhodes


Faculty of Administration Sciences
Dean: Oswaldo Merchán Manzano
Subdecana: Ximena Moscoso Serrano


School of Design, Architecture and Art
Doyenne: Genoveva Malo Toral
Deputy Dean: Rafael Estrella Toral


Faculty of Legal Sciences
Dean: José Chalco Quezada
Deputy Dean: Sebastián López Hidalgo


Faculty of Science and Technology
Dean: Andrés López Hidalgo
Deputy Dean: Pedro Crespo Vintimilla


Faculty of Medicine
Galo Duque Proaño
Subdecana: Cumandá Merchán Manzano


Postgraduate Department
Director: Mateo Coello Salcedo

Organic structure


Organic Structure